Board of Directors

Rob B Thomas AM, BEc, MSAA, SF Fin, FAICD

Finance and Management

Independent non-executive director (appointed 4 December 2013)

Chairman (from 13 June 2014)

Mr Thomas has a strong background in financial services and is a non-executive director of a number of listed healthcare companies in Australia and the United States. Formerly, he was a Partner of Potter Partners (now UBS) and also held the roles of CEO and Head of Research. Mr Thomas is a former CEO of County NatWest and Citibank Corporate and Investment Bank. For many years, he was regarded as one of Australia’s leading analysts and regularly lectured with FINSIA. Mr Thomas has chaired the Audit and Risk Committee of Virgin Australia Limited since 2006, and is approved under the NSW prequalification scheme for Audit and Risk Committee Independent Chairs and Members for government public sector agencies.

 Mr Thomas is a former past Chairman of TAL Limited (formerly Tower Australia Limited), the NSW State Library and Heartware International Inc. Mr Thomas is currently a non-executive director of ASX listed REVA Medical Inc., Virgin Australia Limited and Biotron Limited.

 Mr Thomas holds a Bachelor of Economics from Monash University, a Diploma of Business (Accounting) from Swinburne and is a fellow of FINSIA. He is also a Master Stockbroker and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Jacinth (Jackie) K Fairley BSc, BVSc (Hons), MBA, GAICD

International Pharmaceutical Industry and General Management

Executive director (appointed 1 July 2006)

Chief Executive Officer

Dr Jackie Fairley has more than 25 years of operational experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries working in business development and senior management roles with companies including CSL and Faulding (now Pfizer). She was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the group in July 2006. Jackie holds first class honours degrees in Science (pharmacology and pathology) and Veterinary Science from Melbourne University and was a practicing veterinary surgeon prior to joining CSL in 1989.

 Whilst at CSL she obtained an MBA from the Melbourne Business School where, as Dux of her final year, she was the recipient of the prestigious Clemenger Medal and a number of other academic prizes. Jackie is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Jackie currently sits on the board of the Melbourne Business School and is a member of the Government’s Commonwealth Science Council, and is a past member of the Federal Government’s Pharmaceutical Industry Working Group and the Federal Ministerial Biotechnology Advisory Council. She is also an advisor to the Carnegie Innovation Fund.


Richard A Hazleton BSChE, MSChE, MBA, HonDrEng, HonDrCommSc

Finance, Engineering, Science and Management

Independent non-executive director (appointed 1 December 2006)

Mr Hazleton is a former Chairman and CEO of US-based global corporation Dow Corning. He joined Dow Corning in 1965 and held numerous positions in engineering, manufacturing and finance, both in the US and Europe. He was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of the company in 1993, and Chairman of the Board of Directors and CEO in 1994. During his career with Dow Corning, Mr Hazleton performed the roles of European Area Vice President and Director of Finance and later Corporate Controller and Chief Accounting Officer. In this latter global role he was responsible for the preparation of all public financial reports, and relationships with financial regulatory agencies and independent auditors. Mr Hazleton retired from Dow Corning in 2001.

 Mr Hazleton has served on the boards of the American Chemistry Council and the Chemical Bank and Trust Company (Midland, MI, USA) as well as several non-profit social service agencies in Michigan and Belgium.


Zita Peach BSc, GAICD, FAMI

International Pharmaceutical Industry and Management

Independent non-executive director (appointed 1 October 2011)

Ms Peach has more than 20 years of commercial experience in the pharmaceutical industry, particularly in marketing, commercialising products and technologies and business development in local and international markets, working for major industry players such as CSL and Merck Sharp & Dohme, the Australian subsidiary of Merck Inc. Ms Peach’s most recent executive position was as the Managing Director for Australia and New Zealand and Executive Vice President, South Asia Pacific for Fresenius Kabi, a leading provider of pharmaceutical products and medical devices to hospitals. She has also worked as an interim CEO at Vision Eye Institute Limited. Previously, Ms Peach was Vice President, Business Development, R&D for CSL, a position she held for ten years.

Ms Peach is a Non-Executive Director of the ASX-listed AirXpanders, Inc., Visioneering Technologies, Inc. and Monash IVF Group Limited. Ms Peach also holds board positions with non-listed entities including Hudson Institute of Medical Research. Ms Peach is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Peter R Turvey BA/LLB, MAICD

International Pharmaceutical Industry and Law

Independent non-executive director (appointed 19 March 2012)

Mr Turvey has had more than 30 years of experience in the biotech/pharmaceutical industry having been former Executive Vice President Licensing, Group General Counsel and Company Secretary of global biopharmaceutical company CSL, retiring in 2011. Mr. Turvey is currently a principal of Foursight Associates Pty Ltd, a non-executive director of ASX-listed Viralytics Limited, and a director of Victorian Government owned entity Agriculture Victoria Services Pty Ltd.

 Mr Turvey played a key role in the transformation of CSL from a government owned enterprise, through ASX listing in 1994, to a global plasma and biopharmaceutical company. He also had responsibility for the protection and licensing of CSL's intellectual property and for risk management within CSL, which included management of the internal audit function, reporting to the Audit & Risk Management Committee of the Board as well as being the Chairman of the Corporate Risk Management Committee.

© Starpharma Holdings Limited 2017